Best answer: Can you put a warranty on a used car?

Can you get warranties on used cars?

Used passenger cars under 10 years old and with less than 160,000km have a three-month or 5,000km dealer guarantee which a dealer must provide free of charge. Used cars over 10 years old or with over 160,000km do not have a dealer guarantee or a manufacturer’s warranty, they just must be roadworthy.

Can you get an extended warranty on a used vehicle?

Extended warranties can be applied to both new and used vehicles. Buyers who plan to keep their car well beyond the expiry of the manufacturer’s warranty may find extended-warranty cover appealing. This is particularly the case if the car purchased is known to be expensive to repair.

What to do if you buy a used car and it has problems?

You can ask for the dealer to pay for any repairs. You can either take the vehicle back to the dealer to have them do the repair or have the repair done by a third party and ask the dealer to foot the bill. (Bear in mind you won’t be able to ask for a repair if it’ll cost more than you paid for the vehicle.)

IT IS INTERESTING:  How can I protect my car from Sun dashboard?

Can you return a used car if it has problems?

(That designation, which is applied to a vehicle that continues to have a defect or defects that substantially impair its use, value, or safety, legally entitles its owner to a refund or “comparable replacement vehicle.”) In situations where there is a clear problem with a new or newly purchased used car, the dealer …

What is the standard warranty on a used car?

Secondhand vehicles

For a second hand motor vehicle the Motor Dealers and Repairers Act 2013 provides a statutory warranty of 3 months or 5,000km from the date of sale (whichever occurs first). This applies to second hand vehicles that have traveled less than 160,000 km and are less than 10 years old.

What happens if a car Cannot be fixed under warranty?

What happens if the dealership can’t fix my car under warranty is that the dealership may be required to either repair the car or replace the vehicle with another vehicle. … If it is something serious, it increase the strength of your potential lemon law or auto fraud case.

How long is the warranty on a used car?

As stated above, if they are covered by the manufacturer’s warranty (which is typically 3 years/36,000 miles, but can be more for some manufacturers), then they may still qualify for coverage under the new car lemon law.

VACHON LAW FIRM.

Toll Free: 1-855-4-LEMON-LAW
Local: (858) 674-4100
Fax: (858) 674-4222

Is there a 30 day warranty on used cars?

Yes, the 30-day warranty for used cars that the Consumer Rights Act 2015 provides is a legal protection. Remember though that this is not the same thing as buying an additional warranty. … ‘Approved used car warranties’ are often offered by dealers for up to 12 months after the date of purchase.

IT IS INTERESTING:  How long can a car battery run a 1500 watt heater?

How long after buying a used car can you return it?

Typically, the dealerships that have a return policy will allow you to return a used car within 30 days. However, not all dealers will have the same time frame for returns.

How many days after buying a car can you return it?

One of the most common questions asked by consumers is whether there is a “Cooling-off” period under California law. Virtually every car sale contract in California includes fine print that allows a dealer to demand return of the vehicle within 10 days.

Can you return a used car to a private seller?

Whether you’re buying from a private party or a dealer, a used car usually cannot be returned. … This means that the buyer is willing to take a chance with the car — even though there might be problems with it. Some used car dealers may offer a warranty or guarantee — just make sure you get the terms in writing.